Home Page

Protected Characteristics

Protected Characteristics 


The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. The Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics: 


  1. Age 
  2. Disability 
  3. Gender reassignment 
  4. Race 
  5. Religion or belief 
  6. Marriage or civil partnership 
  7. Sex 
  8. Sexual orientation 
  9. Pregnancy and maternity 


At The British School we actively promote the understanding, tolerance and respect of these Protected Characteristics, embedding them into our ethos and explicit teaching across the curriculum.